Classic Book Tag

 

Hello bloggies,

I was nominated for the classics book tag by Charley of BookandBakes1. I’m not a typically classic book reader, but nonethe less, let’s see how we go. I have to apologise to Charley now, becasue she tagged me so long ago on this one and I’ve not been my diligent self and done it quickly. But as always thanks to Charley, she is a book addict and a great blogger!

Here goes! (All images are from Google.)

An overhyped classic you didn’t really like:

Ive tried to think of one here, but I can’t think of one. *sigh*

 

Favourite time period to read about:

I learned a lot about Victorian Britain from the Sherlock Holmes novels. They’re a great glimpse into how the world was working and functioning in those days and the fascination with the time period and these stories shows in the TV and film work going on around the stories.

 


 

Favourite fairy tale:

I’m not a great fairy tale person myself…

 


 

 

What is the most embarrassing classic you haven’t read? 

I have to go with Charley on this one, I would like to read Moby dick and I haven’t got around to it yet. I’ve heard a lot about it and about how the author has put in a lot of information about whale hunting. But I know there are some stunning quotes tucked in there too.

 


 

Top 5 classics you’d like to read soon:

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

 

 

A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess


1984 – George Orwell

 

 

Robot Dreams – Isaac Asimov

 

The End of Eternity – Isaac Asimov

 


 

 

Favourite modern book/series based on a classic:

I am currently loving the BBC version of An Inspector Calls. They’ve made some changes (with Priestley’s son’s help) but it’s still dramatic and intense. It still makes you question your every move.

 


 

 

Favourite movie version / TV series based on a classic:

On ITV at the moment is this awesome amalgamation of a number of Dickens classics. It’s called Dickensian and it’s just amazing. I’m LOVING it so much. I can’t work it out either, but it’s so clever how so many classics have been weaved into one.


 

 

Worst classic to movie adaptation:

How about the modern Romeo and Juliet? I wasn’t a fan of this, hate me as I’m sure many of you love it!

 


 

Favourite edition(s) you would like to collect more classics from:

I’m not really a collector of book series as such. I buy a book that I like or want to read.

 

An under-hyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

I’m not sure I’ve got one here – I think many classics are unerrated. I also think that schools and the education system don’t encourage children to read the classics that would be best for them, or to have the reading freedom they need.

 

I’m going to nominate a few people for this tag, if you don’t want to do it don’t worry, but I’m passing on the tag love!

thesweetreview

2015chronicles

Teresa

Nya

Simon 🙂

 

 

15 Replies to “Classic Book Tag”

      1. A gerk. That’s interesting. I am? I’m not into any particular author but at this moment in time, I’m reading Solnit – A Faraway Nearby Place. I haven’t read Harry Potter and I never finished Ulysses, despite trying my hardest. I tend to know in the first page if I can muster the courage to continue.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.